The following are "unofficial minutes", subject to change at the next meeting.

BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS

www.pembinacountynd.gov

September 11, 2018

9:00 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met at 9:00 AM in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Courthouse with the following members present: James Benjaminson, Laverne Doyle, Nick Rutherford, Hugh Ralston, and Hetty Walker.

Chairman Benjaminson called the meeting to order. An abatement hearing will be added to the agenda.

Motion made by Hetty Walker and seconded by Hugh Ralston to approve the August 21, 2018 minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

The NDDOT Construction and Maintenance Agreement for Project SC-3410(059), the proposed project on County Road #1 from Bathgate to I-29 was reviewed. Motion made by Nick Rutherford and seconded by Hetty Walker to authorize the Chairman to sign the agreement as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Pembina County Fair Board minutes of May 23, 2018, June 13, 2018, June 27, 2018, July 5-8, 2018 and July 25, 2018 and the June and July 2018 financial report were reviewed.

Motion made by Nick Rutherford and seconded by Laverne Doyle to appoint Tanya Wieler as election inspector for the November 6, 2018 General Election. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commission reviewed the appointment of Nick Rutherford to the JDA Board. After discussion with the Pembina County State's Attorney, motion made by Nick Rutherford to rescind the motion made at the August 21, 2018 meeting appointing him to the JDA Board. Second by Hugh Ralston. All voting in favor; motion carried. Discussion followed. Motion made by Nick Rutherford to appoint Ardis Olson to the JDA Board. Seconded by Laverne Doyle. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Ashley Johnson, Pembina County WIC, is requesting to update the WIC entry and office. Ms. Johnson is requesting to paint a mural on the entry wall which will welcome clients to Pembina County WIC and to rearrange the existing

furniture in the WIC office to accommodate clients. Motion made by Nick Rutherford and seconded by Hetty Walker to authorize the requested updates. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Jill Denault, Social Service Director, is requesting to purchase an additional vehicle for the department. Motion made by Nick Rutherford and seconded by Laverne Doyle to approve the purchase of an additional vehicle for the department. Discussion followed. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Commissioner Walker updated the Commission on the Red River Basin Conference she attended in Fargo last week.

Sheriff Meidinger reported the striping on the Truck Regulatory vehicle should be completed soon and informed the Commission of Mandy Peterson's and Brad Bowman's resignations.

Mikka Willits, Tax Director, representing Don & Carmen Augustin, present for abatement hearing. The application is for abatement on property described as Pt N½ NE¼ of Section 10, City of St Thomas; Parcel 34-0130000. Due to a clerical error on the tillable acres they are requesting the taxable valuation be lowered from \$99,930 to \$66,859 and receive a refund for the overpayment for three years. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Laverne Doyle to approve a refund for tax years 2016 and 2017. Discussion followed. Roll call vote: Laverne Doyle – yes; Nick Rutherford – yes, Hugh Ralston – yes; Hetty Walker – yes. Motion carried.

Drainage permit received from Cindy McColl Hughes to restore the ditch to original grade along County Road #1, in the SE¼ of Section 2 in Bathgate Township. The application has been approved by Devin Johnson, Highway Superintendent. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Nick Rutherford to authorize the Chairman to sign the request as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Drainage permit received from Travis Brown to clean the ditch to grade and install a crossing and culvert in the SE¼ of Section 2 on the north side of County Road #1 in Bathgate Township. The application has been approved by Devin Johnson, Highway Superintendent. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Nick Rutherford to authorize the Chairman to sign the request as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Drainage permit received from Brent Nabben to clean the ditch to grade along County Road #55 in the SW¼ of Section 1 and the SE¼ of Section 2 of St Joseph Township. The application has been signed by the landowner and approved by Devin Johnson, Highway Superintendent. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Nick Rutherford to authorize the Chairman to sign the request as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Devin Johnson, Highway Superintendent, presented a map and pictures of culverts that must be replaced on 136th Ave NE, in the E½ of Section 10 of Crystal Township. The replacement will require three 96" x 50' culverts. Bids for installation of the culverts will be accepted until 4:30 PM, Friday, September 14, 2018. Bids will be opened at the September 18, 2018 Commission meeting.

Devin reviewed the bids for the replacement of the box culvert in Gardar Township. Bids were presented at the August 21, 2018 meeting. Motion made by Hugh Ralston and seconded by Nick Rutherford to approve the bid of \$23,177.00 from Lane Enterprises for galvanized plate arch extensions and ends. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Chairman Benjaminson discussed concerns from individuals regarding the striping on the roads that were chip sealed this summer. Devin has advertised for quotes, but has not received any bids. Commission requested Devin contact contractors directly to see if the striping could be completed by the end of September.

Commission reviewed the preliminary budget. Final valuation approvals have not been received from the State Tax Commissioners Office. Counties are required to be within 90% - 100% of the values set by the State to be in compliance. Budget hearing is set for 7:00 PM, Tuesday, September 18, 2018.

Commission reviewed the August payroll and claims. Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hetty Walker to approve the consent agenda as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Laverne Doyle and seconded by Hugh Ralston to adjourn the meeting. All voting in favor; motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 11:20 AM.