## The following are "unofficial minutes" subject to change at the next meeting.

## BOARD OF PEMBINA COUNTY COMMISSIONER'S PROCEEDINGS

## www.pembinacountynd.gov

December 3, 2024

9:00 AM

Board of Pembina County Commissioners met in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Courthouse.

Chairperson Cull called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM. Roll call: Patrick Hardy, Scot Becker, Blaine Papenfuss, Darin Otto and Andrew Cull. A quorum was declared.

Also, in attendance were: Zelda Hartje, Darrin Olafson, Samantha Diemert, Emergency Manager; Missy Morden, Clerk/Recorder; Marcus Ramsay, Chief Deputy; Lisa Keney, Tax Director; Lisa Wieler, Deputy Tax Director, Kory Flaagan, County Assessor, Deputy Kane Gerszewski, Jeff Stevenson.

Auditor Gapp called for nominations for chairman and vice chairman. Blaine Papenfuss nominated Darin Otto for Chairman and Patrick Hardy for Vice Chairman for 2025. All voting in favor, motion carried.

Motion made by Andrew Cull and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to approve the agenda with the changes of adding the repurchaser deed for Preston Kemp and approval of all deeds for the properties sold at the foreclosure sale. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Andrew Cull to approve the November 19, 2024 meeting minutes as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Scot Becker to approve Chairman Otto to sign the Certification of Local Match for Project BRC-BRS-0099-(015). All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion by Patrick Hardy and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to accept the Fire Sprinkler Inspection Contract and declining the automatic repairs without prior authorization portion of the contract. All voting in favor, motion carried.

Motion by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Scot Becker to approve the 2025 liquor licenses as presented and staying at the same rate as 2024. All voting in favor, motion carried.

States Attorney Fontaine addressed discussed the flood plain. There is a new requirement from FEMA. He presented three options that FEMA gave to choose from. He feels option one or three are the best choices. Choices will need to be presented to the townships for their approval as well. Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to send option one and option three to the townships with the commission recommending option one. Mr. Cull amended it to add in to have their choice back to the county as soon as possible with a follow up letter within two weeks if not received back. All voting in favor, motion carried.

States Attorney Fontaine gave his recommendation on the City of Drayton improvement project request from Moore Engineering. He feels more information needs to gotten before the commission can make an informed decision. Motion by Cull and seconded by Papenfuss to table this issue until Mr. Fontaine can gather more information. All voting in favor, motion carried.

Tax Director Keney presented an abatement application from Jeff & Jane Stevenson on parcels 01-0420000 and 01-0420020. She read the report given from the North Dakota State Board of Equalization which stated no action required. She recommends the abatement be denied. Jeff Stevenson addressed the commission on his abatement. Motion by Blaine Papenfuss to deny the abatement based on the state recommendation. No second, motion failed. Long discussion followed. Motion by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Andrew Cull to deny the abatement based on the state's recommendation. Roll Call: Patrick Hardy, no; Scot Becker, no; Blaine Papenfuss, yes; Darin Otto, yes; Andrew Cull, yes. Motion carried.

Lisa Keney, Tax Director asked the commission to approve the land modifiers as presented with the flood modifier for a five-year period. Motion by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Andrew Cull to approve the modifiers as presented for one year only. Discussion followed. Motion by Blaine Papenfuss to amend his motion and seconded by Andrew Cull to approve the flooding modifier for three years. Roll Call: Patrick Hardy, yes; Scot Becker, yes; Blaine Papenfuss yes; Darin Otto, yes; Andrew Cull, yes. Motion carried.

Commission reviewed Board appointments and made the following appointments and reappointments:

County Coroner: Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to reappoint Wendy Adams for a 3-year term. All voting in favor, motion carried.

Water Resource Board: There are two positions open on the board. Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to appoint Duane Schurman to the water board. Four yes, One, no. Motion carried. Motion by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Patrick Hardy to reappoint Randall Emanuelson. All voting in favor, motion carried.

County Arbitration Board: Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to appoint Melissa Gapp to replace Linda Schlittenhard. All voting in favor, motion carried.

County Health Board: Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to reappoint Rachel Ramsay to a 2-year term and Suzanne Ashpole to a 4-year term. All voting in favor, motion carried. Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Scot Becker to appoint Blaine Papenfuss to replace Laverne Doyle. All voting in favor, motion carried.

Pembina County Housing Authority: Motion by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Patrick Hardy to appoint John Spencer and Rebecca Davis. All voting in favor. Motion carried.

Planning & Zoning Board: Motion by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Scot Becker to appoint Chris Delori. All voting in favor, motion carried. Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to reappoint Tom Cummings. All voting in favor, motion carried. Motion by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Scot Becker to reappoint Darin Otto. All voting in favor, motion carried. Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to reappoint Jim Benjaminson. All voting in favor, motion carried.

PC Reorganization Committee: Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to appoint Jody Dungan. All voting in favor, motion carried.

Pembina County JDA: Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Scot Becker to appoint Patrick Hardy to JDA board. All voting in favor, motion carried. Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to reappoint Mary Houdek and Nathan Green to JDA. All voting in favor, motion carried. Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to appoint Norman Hurst to JDA. All voting in favor, motion carried. Motion by Patrick Hardy and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to appoint Mike Cook to the JDA board. All voting in favor, motion carried.

Red River Regional Council Board Representative: Motion by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Patrick Hardy to appoint Scot Becker. All voting in favor, motion carried.

Pembina County Soils Committee: Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Scot Becker to reappoint William Gunderson as District 1 representative. All voting in favor, motion carried. Motion by Scot Becker and seconded by Patrick Hardy to reappoint Camburn Shephard as District 3 representative. All voting in favor, motion carried. Motion by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Patrick Hardy to reappoint Bradley Schuster as District 5 representative. All voting in favor, motion carried. Motion by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Scot Becker to reappoint N. Curtis Christenson as alternate 1. All voting in favor, motion carried.

Motion by Andrew Cull and seconded by Blaine Papenfuss to have Chairman Otto sign all the deeds from the foreclosure sale and the repurchaser deed as presented. All voting in favor, motion carried.

Commission reviewed the November payroll and claims. Motion made by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Scot Becker to approve the consent agenda as presented. All voting in favor; motion carried.

Motion made by Blaine Papenfuss and seconded by Andrew Cull to adjourn the meeting. All voting in favor; motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 11:30 AM.